Good Tidings of Great Joy

My early religious impressions were received in the atmosphere of partialism. The church, the Sunday school, and the home made the awful future a serious reality to my young heart. So firmly was “orthodoxy” instilled into me, that much of the joy peculiar to childhood was changed into sadness.

But, when other influences entered my heart a little later in life, this world itself had a larger meaning to me, and God became to me, not the monster which “orthodoxy” had taught, but the righteous Father who owns all worlds and all people, and that relationship a tie never to be broken. And Christ became to my soul, not the messenger of death, but one with good tidings of great joy. And it has ever since been my aim to proclaim the good news, that the world might be blessed.

William Percival Burnell (1851-?)
Voices of Faith (1887)

Explore posts in the same categories: Salvation

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

